Thoughts while sitting on the train.

It’s been over a year in a city I swore I was never going to live in. And I love it. It’s feels longer though.

I have a uniform of shorts, jandals, and t-shirts. I get to be barefoot most of the time. The weather warms my bones. I didn’t realise how cold I constantly was in Wellington.

I have a ridiculously central apartment with a balcony garden and sleep with the ranch sliders open because it gets so muggy at night.

I zombie shuffle up and down Tamaki Drive, or grit my teeth as I climb all the volcanic cones. I take the train and the bus, and am slowly discovering all the little gems in the suburbs surrounding mine.

I have a team and a manager so wonderful that sometimes I have to pinch myself to know it’s real. I see my friends as often as I can in this environment.

I can escape to the Bay of Plenty with little drama, and have seen my parents more in the last 12 months then I’ve been able to in years.

Even when I’m fighting the Black Dog, I have support network that humbles me.

I miss travelling, but I know just how absolutely lucky I am with where I am and what I have.

Time for more adventures!

2 Comments

  1. Catherine says:

    It’s so great that you are settling in to Auckland so well Shelley. It’s amazing how sometimes a move can be just the right thing. Wishing you many happy explorations there this year!

    1. Shelley says:

      Now to actually see more of your brother than just a quick coffee. 🤣

Comments are closed.