“You are a child of the universe, no less than the trees and the stars; you have a right to be here.”

The most gorgeous puppy. He just loves being the centre of attention.
The most gorgeous puppy. He just loves being the centre of attention.

I had a good weekend last weekend. I went for a swim at the pool, introduced my pseudo-nieces to a “secret beach” and chocolate milkshakes at Scorching Bay (and met their gorgeous pup, all squeak and bounce and paws), watched some handball at Oriental Beach, and helped the organisers put up banners for the ocean swim.

I actually managed to get a wee bit sunburnt at the beach. Had great fun though.
I actually managed to get a wee bit sunburnt at the beach. Had great fun though.

I didn’t partake in the Capital Classic. Which was a very good thing. I did some drills in the pool before heading on down to blow away and watch the long swim, before playing photographer for all the mad freedivers (and friends) who decided to do the 1000m swim in some of the most horrific conditions I’ve seen. That the wind was peaking at 39-40kts (70-78km) during their swim should give some indication of how difficult things were for them out there. Nonetheless, they all finished in very good time. And the Hop Garden followed in celebration (never been there before, excellent vegetarian selection. Must do that again).

All amped up for the 1000m race
All amped up for the 1000m race

What I did do, however, was my first yoga class since the dreaded Dengue Fever on Monday. It wasn’t just any yoga class. It was a hot yoga class. Taught by the beautiful Jules.

Jules is a fantastic teacher. And I really have missed yoga (my hamstrings are still complaining – it was a very good stretch). I’m sitting on the fence about this hot yoga stuff; but the stretching, breathing, and focus: I’ve needed that. So now comes the whole “where to do yoga” question. I see there is a studio just (conveniently) down the road from my place. Precisely halfway between me and work. And on a bus route for when I end up at a different building.

There’s also the lovely studio where I first injured my rotator cuff all those many moons ago. it is all the way across town though. And then there’s the hot/bikram yoga studios, which charge the earth, and I’m not entirely sure meet what I want out of my yoga practice.

So. The one down the road looks promising. Now just to really sit down and look at the logistics of it all.

I’ve also started having some swim coaching. My coach isn’t anybody to sniff at – he is pretty brilliant. And very patient. And he hasn’t thrown in the towel at me yet. As with everybody who has coached my in the pool, he keeps having to repeat “glide!” at me often. I’m still very much festino rather than festina lente. It’s a character flaw – I admit – and one that I will continue to work on.

So the improvement goes.

On another entertaining note for me, I’ve started to collect bits and pieces for some birthdays that are coming up in Feb/March/April. I actually have some decent prep done for a few of the March/April ones. I need to buck up on February. I’ve had some in the works for months. I’ve had an idea or two when I saw a skein of smooshy for a few of them, and the rest are built on the personalities of the people I will be celebrating. I do love my friends – they are all such a great bunch of people – keep on being awesome, all of you!

The "placid" swimming conditions. Seriously, you cannot imagine how choppy and windy it was there.
The “placid” swimming conditions. Seriously, you cannot imagine how choppy and windy it was there.

So to bed with some Terry Pratchett. My pantry is going to have a critical eye cast over it tomorrow. I’m looking forward to it.

