“And nothing can stop you from dancing.”

This is not a review of the year post. I had pondered one of those for all of the last two weeks. I’d written it in my mind over the last few long walks I’ve been on. I mused over it at 2am on a couple of nights. And then I thought: what is there – really – to say? I had great adventures and met wonderful people. I struggled through mental and physical illness. I travelled – physically, psychologically, and emotionally. My year of being 30 was significant in many ways. I’m still subject to bouts in the dark shadows, but I’ve made a promise to at least not entertain them.

Rock hopping 1/1/2014. It wasn't really *that* gloomy. Almost.
Rock hopping 1/1/2014. It wasn’t really *that* gloomy. Almost.

I had a lovely time in the northern parts of our incredible island. I ate, slept, walked, read, watched cricket, talked, and recharged my batteries somewhat. Yet, for all that, I feel like I could sleep for a week now that I am back in my lovely apartment and looking out at the harbour.

I thoroughly enjoyed being with my loved ones; and spending quality time with my darling old dame. I’d love to call her puppy, but she really isn’t any more.

I honestly didn’t expect her around for Christmas in 2012, so being able to cuddle her this past Christmas was very special. She teaches me much, that bundle of fur. Each good-bye gets harder and easier, because every good-bye I give her could quite possibly be my last. I have come to accept that, but at the same time, I really don’t want to.

My grand old dame. My heart wrapped in fur. My puppy forever.
My grand old dame. My heart wrapped in fur. My puppy forever.

For the rest, there was sun and sand and books. I attempted some knitting, but my heart wasn’t in it. I attempted some writing, but I didn’t know what to say when it came to putting pen to paper. Or fingertips to keyboard. So I just was. And it was good.

For this next year. I don’t quite know what to do yet. There will (obviously) be at least a trip across the ditch. maybe two. I might even make it back to the Can this time around. I’m not entirely sure yet. There are people and dogs and writers and dreamers and doctors I must visit. As for when – no clue.

I’d love to go back to Gili as well. And this time without the expectations on myself. To swim with the turtles and sharks and rays. To dive deep, and do some more yoga, watch the sunrise, drink fresh coconut and eat those amazing pastries. Or, I could go somewhere completely different, and do most of those things. I will have to see where the winds blow me this year – what adventures and opportunities may pop up on the horizon.

As for resolutions – there are a few that I wish to master this year – more yoga, more French, learning to crochet, writing more, doing at least one unexpected thing. But mostly, it’s looking after myself. Being kind to me. Being considered and measured. Swimming. Walking. Gym work. Yoga. Eating well. Reading lots. Loving without reservation. Knitting with all that yarn I’ve been putting away “for one day.”

Here’s to a good year. 🙂

Part of my mother's amazing garden. 25/12/2013.
Part of my mother’s amazing garden. 25/12/2013.
3 Comments

Comments are closed.