surrexit a cinere

It has been a long road back towards 100% – and I’m almost there. Moving into a new place and lining up for gainful employment (and getting back into the gym – hooray) has all helped. As much as it have nearly driven me utterly insane, I really have needed this time off. It’s not to say I haven’t been busy.

I went home for a weekend about a month or so ago, and it was one of the best things I have done this year. It was also the first time I’d been home in 2013, and it was absolutely delightful to see the parentals and the (now very blind in one eye) pup. Every time I go home mom’s shifted things around a bit, and this latest configuration really works. Going home is a benchmark for me. It really showed me how far I have come since the end of 2009. It became apparent that I was on track to returning to Who I Am, and that I was actually completely comfortable with it. I was tired, I was upset, and I was still very sick. But it was good to be home.

It sort of reset the batteries, because from there I have been steadily able to build things back to normal (for me). Also went to Sydney two weeks ago to watch the finswimming and Underwater Rugby. Yes, you read that correctly. Underwater rugby. They had cameras in the water so we could follow the play – and it is a really exciting game to watch. It’s pretty big overseas, but still very much in its infancy here and in Aus. Still – check it out. It was also my annual pilgrimage to Sydneytown, and the city put on some glorious weather for me. Sometimes I feel like I just never left the place – I’m so familiar with it all that I slip into Aussie life so easily. The real highlight though, was seeing Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are dead (review) at the Sydney Theatre. I’d snaffled some very good tickets when they announced the extended season, and they were worth every penny.

And then last weekend (whew) it was up to Auckland to watch the Springboks play the All Blacks (and singing both national anthems loudly). We caught up with some old friends on both days, and went to Kelly Tarlton’s with the hoards of screaming kids and people banging on the glass to see the fish. Heathens. I absolutely adore seeing fish swimming around and having the opportunity to study them at close range, but I must say I find aquariums as upsetting as zoos. I’d much prefer to see the fishies in their natural habitat. Of course, I’m not sure I want to get that close and personal with a mako, and an aquarium is less chilly and makes it more likely to see said fish than diving in the elements. So it all evens out. And to really crown the weekend, we went to this amazing restaurant in Herne Bay. Yes I know, Herne Bay = pricey. But seriously if you can – go there. Order the T-bone. Or the rump. The chicken was also absolutely divine. And their creme caramel… wow.

And this weekend sees me moving into my new place. The more I potter around there, the more I love it. I can see the sea. I can hear the birds. There is sun. And it is warm. I should be happy in it. Recreate my little fortress again. This time I get to fill it with furniture and bits of me. It’s going to be a long and ongoing story, that one, but I already have bits furniture from both my grandmothers coming down to join me, and this just seems very right. One thing I will say is pinterest is evil. But it really has shown me that I do have a specific style and concept I want to follow through with in my space. I am looking forward to putting it all together.

But that’s all for now. There is some knitting and reading and hot tea in my immediate future. And maybe some return to routine and normality. We shall see. 🙂

2 Comments

Comments are closed.