Failure is a relative term. Day 8.

I hate itchy bites with a passion. Went and stood knee-deep in the water waiting for the sunrise – that helped some.

Did a bit of shopping this morning: La Dolce Vita, Yin Jewellery, and scarves from this beautiful little shop – it truly was difficult to not walk away with one in every colour. I think I’m just about set now. Part of me is ready to go home, and part of me really doesn’t want to.

Another cafe setting up in the morning
Another cafe setting up in the morning

Because we were out on a fun dive – Mike and Kate were training for the Depths, and there were a few lines out for those of us tagging along. I was on a 20m line with Greg, and we just chilled for a while in the water. Avoiding mysterious stinging things in the water and just enjoying hanging on the line. CWT to 15 and 18 was fine (dolphin kicking back to the surface was so much fun), I pulled up at 20 without heading into freefall because my right ear was a world of pain. I couldn’t make it past 5 after that. Greg has the same issue. So we swam the kilometre and a bit back to the boat and proceeded to bake in the sun some more on the boat’s little foredeck.

Beautiful morning walking along the shore
Beautiful morning walking along the shore
These dive boats are crazy - the motors cost more than the boats themselves.
These dive boats are crazy – the motors cost more than the boats themselves.

So I failed my SSI level 2. I went and tried an earcandle to see if that would help, but I’m sure it did more harm than good. Yoga, at least, was fantastic: I managed a hand raise without falling over. And now I am just finishing packing. I bought a decent nose clip, another weight belt and a t-shirt. When the red from the sun today is gone: I’ll have a fantastic tan too. So I’m pretty much set for the trip back tomorrow, just the wetsuit to go.

I’ve just had a look at the temperature in Wellington: I probably shouldn’t have done that…

