Italian food. Day 5.

We started the day with statics. The level requirement was a minimum of a 2:45 breath hold. Our yogi and saturation diver both broke the 4:30 mark. The Aussies managed 2:50 and 3:00 respectively. The young Frenchman was so scared of the thought of contractions, he struggled to 2 minutes. I managed my PB of 3:10 – and had my first breathing contractions ever! This may not sound like something to get excited over, but it was a milestone for me. I now know what to look for and what they feel like. We’re going to give Vincent another chance to make the time tomorrow morning before the dynamic session. But the real highlight of the morning came in the form of a custard filled pastry from a little Italian bakery just off the main square called Le Dolce Vita. Mike had a box of them, and was kind enough to give me one after I finished my statics session. I am hooked!

View from last night's dinner
View from last night’s dinner

I hightailed it over to this magical place only to find that they had run out of sweet things. They did, however, have the most incredible Stromboli (which I grabbed two of, and demolished before I had walked back to HQ). I will be outside their front door, waiting for them to open first thing tomorrow.

Le Dolce Vita: Magic in a Bakery
Le Dolce Vita: Magic in a Bakery

In the diving front, we went out to sunset, and I had a very bad day. I just couldn’t equalise past 15m. It was exceedingly frustrating because I was watching the line all the time. I was fine on FIM (free immersion – you pull yourself up and down the line) because I could just close my eyes and go, but because I didn’t want to lose the line on CWT (constant weight – you follow the line down whilst kicking using either bi-fins or a monofin). The pain in my ear just got too much and I couldn’t make it past 5m, so I hung about with the partner of one of the intro swimmers who was a natural. She’d come along to watch and have a bit of a swim, so we had a good chat, until my foot started cramping, and then, whilst getting back on the boat, I managed to squash my thumb between the ladder and the hull. I may have turned the air blue. The cramp just wouldn’t go away, so I missed the snorkel session off Gili Meno. I am still gutted. I have one more day to make 20m+ CWT, and show evidence of freefall to make the level.

The the fun begins. I love this place.
The the fun begins. I love this place.

In order to not think about it, I went and had the best panna cotta ever. It was also an amazing woodfired pizza. One of the best Margarita pizzas I’ve had anywhere. But that panna cotta… wow.

