Gili Trawangan. Day 2.

I can understand why travellers love Bali. The people are friendly, the climate is tropical, it is relatively cheap and very laidback. I could come back to this part of the world – and I don’t do the party scene.
So. Today we caught the ferry to Gili T. It’s a 2:45 sailing time Sangwan to Lombok, and a further 10 minutes on to Gili T. All you hear are Basa, English, and American accents here, with the occasional Swede and Dane (on the ferry with me), and German and French. There are some Aussies in the Gili’s, but the Poms seem to significantly outnumber them.

On the Ferry to Lombok and Gili T
On the Ferry to Lombok and Gili T
In the ferry
In the ferry
Coming in to dock at Gili T. Look at that water!
Coming in to dock at Gili T. Look at that water!

After arriving and checking in, I decided to walk the island. It’s only 7km in circumference, and was an illuminating experience. I’m relieved that Freedive Gili is in one of the quieter parts of town – to the south where the reefs are, they have parties till sunrise with bonfires and fire dancing with mushrooms and booze. To the north, reggae and hubbly bubbly – my area is just the jingle of horse bells.

The main road on Gili - outside the Yoga Gardens
The main road on Gili – outside the Yoga Gardens

Now, due to the aforementioned party houses, Gili T is also known as the party island. And as beautiful as this place is, it is also heartbreaking to see the trash at the roadside and on the beach – millions of orphaned jandals, cans, bottles and ciggie cartons. And as much as the dive operators all try to clean it up, it looks like it would be a losing battle.

Looking out to Sunset Reef on the island's south
Looking out to Sunset Reef on the island’s south

My room here is incredible. Another(!) king bed and the shower is under the stars (private outdoor bathroom). I look out onto the yoga studio where I’ve decided I’m going to take morning and afternoon classes every day that I am here. They mix it up so it should be fun.

My lovely room for the week
My lovely room for the week
Awesome outdoor shower.
Awesome outdoor shower.

There’s two hours till the first class, so I’m going to investigate where to get dinner.

