On the brink of adventure.

What a couple of weeks I’ve had, dear readers! By happy coincidence I bumped into one of my contemporaries from my past life as an English Postgrad in my favourite deli out in Petone. This lass is seriously one of my real-life heroines, and I am not ashamed to say that she is still in many ways an influence – to so find out that we’ve both been in Wellington since the beginning of last year and not bumped into each other before that point… amazing. It was lovely to see her for coffee later, and this will happen more frequently.

The other happy event was another of my cohorts (from Otago and Canberra) finally made it to our fair and windy capital (after years of hassling him). I think his entire coterie of Wellingtonites may have persuaded him to visit more often. If we didn’t, the good food and drink certainly did. I think we hit a winner with post-work whisky tasting at motel though.

Islay vs Highland. This discussion will continue for a while yet.

It’s been great to be able to continue conversations that had been paused, and just add to the general geekery that I enjoy. Right down to lines from Firefly, South Park, and Star Wars interwoven in conversation. I can’t wait until another of this sort of geek wends her way to Wellington. The world needs more librarians like us. There will be shenanigans when this happens.

All the while, of course, as we count down to my bucketlist tour de force – which can be followed here. James and I will endeavour to find the intarwebs in Spain and post, and we will have connectivity in France, so that will happen. I’m still sitting in a little bubble of disbelief about a) it’s actually going to happen. I’m going to do it. I’m going to walk part of the map on my wall that I had as a teenager. And b) We leave on Wednesday(!) and c) I’ll be walking this time next week.

Talk about following your dreams, eh? Somebody pinch me, I really hope I’m not asleep.

And the Camino keeps popping up everywhere now. I found this on my walk home from the gym on Thursday:

I couldn’t justify the price though, but it looks very interesting.

We have our Euros. I’m packed. I have everything (including antihistamines!), it’s just putting one foot in front of each other that needs to happen.

So while I wait, I have a confession to make. I’ve already cast on my Monkeys… And I have to admit, 2 and a half repeats in, I understand. Why did I not make these earlier?

2 repeats in, and I’m starting to get sold on the pattern-yarn match.

My biggest conundrum is whether or not I’m going to be able to take a darning needle on the plane without it being confiscated. Anybody know the answer to that one?

So I’m sitting here, finishing off Fringe Season 4, knitting socks, and dreaming of the weather in France and Spain (a less blistering 23 in Paris, 27 in Santiago [35 when we start walking though!], and 28 in Nice). I’ve missed hot summers, and blue skies. Can I go yet?

5 Comments

  1. Have you got a wooden darning needle? Otherwise, you could just slip it through a seam of your bag? But can’t wait to hear the stories!

  2. oh so close! im getting excited 🙂 and glad you’re loving the monkeys, really a great pattern and looks amazing in that yarn. i got caught needless recently and i just did an inside out three needle bind off, worked a treat.

  3. How exciting, have a great trip!
    You can buy plastic darning needles, I’m sure they wouldn’t have a problem with those (not that I’d use them all the time, heh!)

    1. Really wishing I’d packed some knitting now. May have to rectify that…

Comments are closed.