“You’ve got a Turkish umbrella over your head…”

Today I decided to amble 300m up the road to the Farmer’s Market there instead of down to the harbour. Sniffles and an itchy throat demanded veggie soup, and I needed to get the ingredients. My apartment now smells like coriander, chillies, tomato and onion – I can’t wait for it to be ready! This is definitely the lazy-me’s market, but they did have some jonquils on sale, and I had to get some. They look lovely and smell divine, aren’t they great?

Something bright from the Sunday Farmer's Market - Jonquils!

I’m also feeling slightly smug/apprehensive. I have a dance comp in November. Well, I can’t weasel my way out of it, so I must compete. The technical category should be fine, but there’s an open expression that I should also, apparently, be looking at. Which needs a song. And will also need me to start training, like, yesterday. So I’ve been thinking about songs. And I may have found it while I was chopping carrots. It will probably change, but at the moment, this is the closest thing to a contender I have. I just really like the chorus. It’s not nearly my usual, but it may just work. Now to think about choreography. *sigh*. I wouldn’t be surprised in my dance instructor is gloating round about now. The things I do when I feel spontaneous… more on this fiasco as it unfolds.

In other news, ash from the CordonCaulle volcano in Chile has reached NZ airspace. Air New Zealand isn’t expecting to delay flights, but Qantas and JetStar have already cancelled flights out of the South Island. Just my luck. What did I do to anger Murphy this time? I guess it’s going to be a week of watching and waiting then… That reminds me. What did I do with my passport?

The RSC Hamlet and Futurama call. Time to get back to my Stockholm scarf.

Have a good Sunday all…

5 Comments

  1. I always crave some soup with chilli, onion, garlic and ginger when I am poorly with a cold. There is something restorative about soup!!
    We’ve had all flights in and out of our island cancelled. Don’t know when we’ll be back in contact, aerially, with The mainland.

    1. I’ve been keeping an eye on the flights, and they seem to be going as planned with my carrier (whew). I’m looking forward to seeing Sydney again.

      And I completely agree with your soup recipe. It is almost magical sometimes. 🙂

  2. Fingers crossed with flights! And dancing feet! Soup sounds grand though. I’ll be putting another put on tonight.

    1. Air NZ is flying under the ash cloud, so it looks like we’re good to go. 🙂

Comments are closed.