Double Rainbow (apologies NF)

So I’m watching 186 cyclists struggle up the Col des Aravis. I’m going to get up and watch them do the Col de la Madeleine later. I’ve really missed le Tour. It’s almost funny to say that over the past three years I’ve lived from July to July.

It’s been quite a year for me, since the last TdF. Much has happened. Yet I always knew I’d be watching this year’s Tour ensconced on a comfy couch with a sock project for company. It makes life seem good. I’ve managed to finish Hyacinth #1. That heel was nearly enough for me to call it quits, but I didn’t, and, well… the finished sock is really quite stunning. I wasn’t expecting that, but it’s nearly made me pause in my declaration that I’m going to be knitting nothing but plain vanilla socks for ever. Nearly. Temperance #1 is also done and I’m halfway through #2. I have issues with socks that don’t believe in a gusset. The pattern is just so gorgeous though. I’ll do Monkeys one day, but I think this is going to become my personal Monkey sock. Once I’ve added a gusset to the pattern, of course. I’m hoping to have it finished by Thursday night or Friday, and then I can get back to the other Hyacinth. So far, 2nd sock syndrome has been averted. I’ll let you know if that continues.

I’ve also become smitten with some of the patterns in the new knitty. This makes me very happy for some reason. I’m just not allowed to cast anything else on until my wips are finished. That is why I love le TdF. 😉 I’m trying to decide what yarn to use – I really do have some lovely stash – but Michelle’s Make mine a Bloody Mary just seems to be calling to me for this project. Why? I don’t know. Maybe the allure of having red shoes translates to the desire to have red socks too…

Anyway, I’ve been not posting because I’ve not really had anything to post about. I still don’t. I just feel the need to prattle on about stuff and nonsense from this little corner of a very small island at the edge of the world. Suddenly Calvin makes so much sense:

Calvin & Hobbes: sheer genius

I really had ought to get things together (my fairy godmother has been phenomenal on that front), and think about joining the big wide world again. I went clothes shopping in optimistic anticipation for a job I may one day wake up and have, and that’s also got me thinking. It’s been a long year.

I have a stage to watch and a sock to get to length. I’m also coming up on post #300. Not quite sure what to do for that. Suggestions anybody?!

8 Comments

  1. I can hardly believe a year has passed since the last TdF too. Lots of changes!

    And I LOVE that red sock yarn. Oh dear… I am seriously tempted…

    1. I lost my mojo for a while… I think I’m going to get some of that bloody mary…

  2. You’re going to love the new title of my thesis: “Living in liminal space: A journey in accidental pedagogy.”

    You can relate to that, hmmmm?

  3. Socks! That’s all I can say after a really really long day, but SOCKS!

  4. what a year its been. so many changes. and so much to look forward to. red socks in particular. thinking of you xx

Comments are closed.