Someday I’ll be Saturday Night.

What a week. I managed to catch one of those dreaded bugs you get on flights anywhere over 3 hours long. Talk about knock you out for the count. I haven’t felt this bad in a long, long time. So nothing’s been done. Well, nothing but the test knitting and some cobblestone. I am told that my Evenstar Silk was posted from Melbourne yesterday, and should arrive in my hot little paws next week. I’ve been practising my cast on and I’m rearing to go. I’ve been trying to get as much of my (now) two WIPs out of the way before I start my Arwenamin (the formal honourific in Quenyan of “My lady/Lady of mine” – “arwen” just means “lady”). The amazing Knitabulous custom dyed some of her silk thread for me, and I at least have a sample to play with – it is sublime. I am seriously toying with the idea of buying another skein and knitting either the Featherweight Cardigan by Hannah Fettig or the Geodesic Cardigan by Connie Chang Chinchio (I’m planning on making a few of these anyway). What’s better than a little cashmere cardi? A luscious silk one, of course. I’m thinking in a rich dark chocolatey colour… But now my mind is running away with me. I have WIPs to knit and a shawl to prepare for. But for some reason only 2 projects make me anxious. I look at my nice little stash of lace and sock yarn that I’m building (yes, that’s some of it on the flickr viewer to your right), and I’m dying to cast on something else.

But what? Multnomah looks to be quite quick and easy and fulfills the requirements of one of my 10 in 10 shawls. (I’m going to do one anyway, why not now?), but I’ve the most beautiful blood red Vintage Purls laceweight that I bought for a Geodesic which I am also itching to start. Oh, the decisions. There’s also the Peak Island Hood I’m going to knit in Silkroad Aran Tweed for my escapades around the south island in winter (yes, I am copying you – you know who you are). But I’m not sure if I could really handle all that moss stitch now… even if it is on 6mm needles.

And speaking of knitting and FO’s here are two I prepared earlier…

Viv’s Swallowtail Shawl

Swallowtail Shawl

I knitted this Swallowtail for the Magpie’s mother as a birthday present in Kid Seta (Hunter Green) from Wondoflex in Malvern, Vic (amazing place – you have to see the sale room). It was my first time knitting with mohair and knitting nupps. And interesting combination trying both at once. I’ll have to try them separately to really decide on the matter. it took forever because I wasn’t a fan of the yarn, and the prospect of nupps did terrify me somewhat. But it all worked out in the end and blocked beautifully. It was also appreciated by the recipient, and I hope she gets much use out of it.

And Bobby Red

Bobby Red - Stolen Moments Wrap

This is my second attempt at a stolen moments shawl. This time using the 2 beautiful skeins of Mmmmalabrigo Silky in Ravelry Red that the lovely Bells gifted me for my birthday, and modelled here by my very patient mother. It is light, it is long and it is silky. I can see this being worn very, very often this winter, so thanks Bells for some beautiful yarn to work it, it really is all that!

As for the thesis… it hasn’t been a good week for anything. So I’ve just started to transcribe what I have down already to try get me going again (gee, that’s why I’m suddenly posting). And there’s also a formal and fairly important report I have to write which is making me incredibly nervous. I didn’t realise how serious this report would be when I shruggingly agreed to it, but when you’re playing with the big boys, you have to pull up your socks and suck it in. So, I have to try and remember how to write and format a report. The last time I did that was library school… I long time ago now. yeesh. I’ve got the observations done, but it’s the recommendations that are the really iffy bits. Well, no time like the present to start, and we all have to start somewhere.

So, I’m petting my yarn, and wondering how long it’ll take me for two-wip insanity to overcome me… Maybe I’ll last through the ‘Canes game… Maybe.

5 Comments

  1. LOL. Love the FOs, though! So productive… you just need to carry that through to the report.

  2. nupps AND mohair? goodness, youre brave. it looks lovely tho, as does stolen moments. i would feel uncomfortable with only two wips as well, perhaps its contributing to the feverish feeling! i picked the ‘canes but the ‘tahs have let me down this week. i should probably not be surprised….

  3. I hope that you’re feeling better soon. I have a hard time paying attention to patterns when I am sick. It’s better to stick to plain knitting. Fortunately, I have a large sweater otn that fits the bill.

  4. I love the color of that kid seta you used… just luscious.

    I hope you feel better soon. My husband was laid low by something for a couple of weeks, poor thing.

  5. I love all of Hannah Fettig’s stuff as well. I would love to knit the featherweight cardi!

Comments are closed.