Inspiration, where art thou?

Tomorrow I go in and get my first cut and colour in many a moon. The guy cutting my hair is quite steam-punkish in his own style, so this should be one interesting ride. I’m hoping that the results give me a kick up the proverbial, because it turns out that there is quite a bit that does have to be done for the workshop handouts before their deadline, and the next section of Earendil has to be started. I just need some encouragement, I think.

On the knitting front, Sayoran is going at a clipping pace – when I can pick it up and work on it. It really is a gorgeous pattern. It would look phenomenal and be a very quick knit in something chunky, but I’m using 4ply and 4mm needles, so while it’s taking longer to get anywhere, the drape is gorgeous now, and it is going to be very wearable when it’s finished and blocked. Just over halfway now, so I’m hoping to have it done by the end of the week. Then, I can start on my stolen moments – I’ve done it before, but the needles weren’t chunky enough for the yarn, and this time I’m going to use my Rav Red silky merino and 6mm needles. I know how beautifully the lattice work opens up, and how wearable it will be, so that should be fun. There’s also that swallowtail to finish *this weekend*, and some birthday socks to cast on.

I’m trying to keep my projects to a minimum and under control – so my Rav queue has had a serious spring clean. But I’ve also taken advantage of the Rav patterns that are donating a percentage to the Haiti disaster relief and splurged a bit – finally got my “Wandering the Moor” and “Mountain View Cardigan”. I have the yarn for both, and will get to them when I can. Someone was telling me she had too many shawls the other day, and I’m trying to get to that point. I think I’ve got lace flu at the moment, but to be quite honest, I really don’t mind.

I also managed to get one of the NZ fibre boxes over the weekend (its all very exciting), and if the courier is *very nice* to me, I should have it tomorrow morning. I love the idea of sample boxes… I think I need some more. And to learn to crochet so I can make granny squares from the samples… and a blanket out of the granny squares. Just a thought.

But now, it’s time for a few rows and sleep. I’m trying to get into some routine, and I’m not going to let apathy stop me!

6 Comments

  1. ooh a sample box, to try that croshaying thing. what a good idea. and im sooo pleased to see mountain view on your list. do it. do it now!!

Comments are closed.