“I am popular culture. I bring it with me and it bends to my will”.

Yes. I love David Tennant too.

It’s been a good few days getting into chapter 2. I sent a book review off, and have had surprisingly good feedback about it. Will have it published in December. Yay.

Isabella’s done. Hallelujah. I’ll not be knitting her like again. I may change her mind when it’s all blocked, but it didn’t grab me as much as Damson is or the Swallowtail has. (Although Damson may only be grabbing me because she’s my first cashmere piece. teeheehee. I like cashmere – but we’ll see. So far, so good.) The Calorimetry is also done and needs to be blocked. Still have 25g of Burnt Oranges left – may figure out how to knit a flower out of it.

Had a lovely evening at Kniterature. Have the desire to re-visit the Belgariad again because we may or may not be partaking in the age-old discussion of the dream movie cast. David Tennant, Hugh Laurie, Stephen Fry and Viggo Mortensen have all made the list. I’m pondering Hugh Jackman’s involvement too. Funny – no yanks yet…

Did get pulled up though. Was joking about how much of an over-achiever I am (hey, show me a PhD student who isn’t?!) I’m happy to say that I’ve taken opportunities as they have been presented. Carpe Diem and all that jazz. But the Magpie said to me afterwards that he couldn’t believe I was blowing my trumpet so loudly – “you really don’t need to impress anybody”. That stung. I wasn’t – or at least – that was the last thing on my mind. I mean, I am pretty satisfied with everything I’ve managed to accomplish with my sanity (relatively) intact in the last decade – who wouldn’t be (we will not mention the energy drink addiction at this point) – but I don’t see the need to shout it from the rooftops. But that really made me wonder. Was my self-mocking tone taken as arrogance? If the Magpie thought so, maybe it was… I think I just need to sit in a corner and be quiet for a while.

It’s been a tough few weeks, and I’m pretty stressed out about next Tuesday. But more that later. I think I need some rooibos. And sleep.

Maybe I won’t feel so wretched tomorrow.

ETA: Magpie says “he didn’t mean it like that” and he was “picking up stompies”. hmmm… I don’t think he’s going to win this one.

3 Comments

  1. i’m loving the sparse look of the blog! Very work-friendly reading (it looks very serious and not like I’m reading blogs!)

    I’m sure you have loads to be proud of. In fact I know you do! A bit of trumpet blowing is warranted from time to time!

    1. You’re awesome, you know that? Hope that parcel is on your doorstep tonight. 🙂

  2. I think there’s nothing wrong with being proud of yourself and patting yourself on the back now and then. Good for you! You’ve been productive and deserve to crow a little.

Comments are closed.