Introducing Avalonnë – FO

Finally! There are photos. And here she is. My Avalonnë.

Riding to Avalonne - with hood up
Riding to Avalonne - with hood up

In Tolkien’s mythology Avalonnë is the port on Tol Eressëa (The Grey Havens), where the Elves first arrive into from Middle-earth.

button detail
button detail

This project took way longer than it should have. Just over 5 months. Of course, there was much else being done and knitted at the time. The pattern is out of the 2008 Knitscene (link here is to the Interweave Store), and it is the reason why I bought the mag. It’s a lovely pattern – the purl twist is not evil – it is just horrifically boring. (The hood was a month of purl twist. Ouch).

The yarn was RYC Cashsoft DK. Something normally way out of my price range, but with Cassidy’s and its fabulous Rowan sale, I couldn’t not get the yarn. And I still have just under 2 balls left. It knits to a lovely fabric with great stitch definition, and it blocks and washes very well. Looks good with a light steam too.

Riding to Avalon - hood down
Riding to Avalon - hood down

Mods… An extra two inches to the sleeves before starting the caps, crochet edging around the cuffs and the hood. Everything else was to spec. It really needed the extra length on the sleeves.

the 3-button sleeves
the 3-button sleeves

Wearablity. I’m extremely proud of this FO. It looks good, it drapes nicely, it fits! It’s warm without being toasty on its own, but works well under a jacket too.

And I finally appear to have set my seaming demons to rest (I hope I didn’t just jinx myself. I think I may have).

The last sweater I made for myself was a complete right-off – the yarn grew, there were some issues with the sleeves in the pattern (later on the Rav board I discovered it was a serious problem that no errata had been published for. Yet).

hood detail - purl twist with crochet edging
hood detail - purl twist with crochet edging

Would I make it again? Probably. I’d use the collar mod instead of battling through making the hood again. It really deserves some lovely yarn (marled would be the best) to make it. But I can see many, many happy years *touch wood* in this sweater.

look how neat those set-in sleeves are!
look how neat those set-in sleeves are!

Thanks all for your patience. There will be more show and tell when the baby stuff has arrived at its destination.

I am currently trying to knit a pair of socks in a weekend. So far, so good. 10ply wool and 4mm needles are great for that sort of thing. I’ve also rediscovered the cable twist without the cable needle. I could do it years ago, and then it slipped my mind. Thousands of purls twists brought it back to me. It’s a great thing to know. Especially for the mock-cable socks. When I can get round to doing them.

Planning a productive, long day in the library tomorrow – hope to get Envy all wrapped up and start Sedition on Sunday. Fingers crossed. There’s also the small issue of a trifling game of rugby tomorrow night. And, beat again my stilted heart – the Magpie is actually going to support the ABs.

And he now wants to learn how to knit socks. (magic loop, toe-up, naturally). He declares that he will need more addi turbo’s too. And has requisitioned my Count Sockular from me. It was either that or significant portions of the Needle Food that arrived today. It really is divine. I will be getting more sometime (but I’ll post on the yarn next).

Right, I have a heel to turn, and some notes to get in order. Enjoy the photos! 🙂

12 Comments

  1. That is just stunning. I love the drape of the hood, the detail at the wrist is superb, and the buttons! You should be so pleased with yourself.

  2. Oh wow. It’s every bit as fabulous as predicted. What a stunning job – and those buttons are sensational! I adore everything about this – the sleeves are amazing. You should be VERY proud. Here’s to many years of happy wearing!

  3. im really not sure i should be talking to allblacks supporters today, but i have to at least say how much i love that jumper, you have done a terrific job and everything about it is just perfect, including how well it suits you and your inner elf XX

  4. Ah, it’s fun just to look at her again – although, peoples, she looks even more stunning in the flesh! In the wool? Ummm…

    Maybe I need more coffee!

  5. The extra length on the sleeves is perfect. And the buttons? They are reminiscent of the leaf pins from Lorien. Lovely.

  6. Stunning. Simply stunning. Love the sleeves, love the buttons, love all of it! Especially the seams. You will never need the mattress stitch fairy again!

Comments are closed.