So long…. and thanks for all the fish!

Finally, after a week straight from the Hellmouth (I actually couldn’t believe the days could get worse, but they did), I find myself sitting in the piano room, newly dubbed a ‘Mexican’ (living south of the border with New South Wales).

Ah Melbourne! It’s novel to not have such cold nights (and to see the sea again!), but being at the bus stop at 7.30 in the morning is going to take some getting used to.

I don’t want to even contemplate revisiting last week – I had only two people show up to a course I gave in Sydney. A complete waste of time during a week where every second was precious. The Magpie fell ill, the Dr assured him that it was a minor viral infection, and nothing porcine in strain, and, as luck would have it, I came down with it pretty promptly on Thursday. He, the lucky thing, doesn’t have a history of bronchial complaints (he just sounded a little more husky), I, on the other hand, sound like a barking dog choking whilst attempting to drink from a high pressure hose. Not the sweetest of sounds. Especially not at the front of a lecture theatre with 10 minutes left to go. How embarrassing – but I’m getting ahead of myself.

We took our time to get down to Melbourne – especially as we were both pretty worn out by the end of the week, and now there’s just organizing, unpacking, and trying to figure out where to put the rest of our stuff when it arrives in the next couple of days… *sigh*

As for Le Tour… last year I was “the Mark Cavendish of the Tour knitting world”. This year, I was more like Cadel Evans or Tom Boonen. Nothing quite went according to schedule, but then, trying to tackle the Alps when taking on Everest IRL was probably not the best of plans. In saying that, however, I managed to finish the cursed RTA hood, and I’ve now half a sleeve done. (I have around 3 hours a day on a bus now, so I’m pretty sure the sleeves will be finished quick smart, I do have a deadline for this project).

As for my Ashes KAL – after much careful deliberation, Liesl is going to be frogged. I managed to get her all the way down to where I’d cast off the body, but I’m not happy with the lack of shaping, and a number of comments on Ravelry have just echoed those concerns. So my gorgeous Malabrigo will end up as something else… I’m just not quite sure what yet. Ysolde makes some stunning patterns, but I think there needs to be a little more refinement in some of the finishing touches, and I’m sure this will come with maturity – as she grows into her design style.

So I’m back to three projects – the BSJ, which needs to be addressed and soon, the RTA which is progressing at a steady pace, and Tinuveil which is waiting patiently for me to get the time to knit some lace again. Maybe this weekend.

As for Melbourne… Today I took what will be the fist of many bus rides to a delightful campus that feels like a campus – it bustles, there is music, and hordes of undergrads, and life! You cannot imagine what a difference a vibrant undergraduate community can make to the soul of a campus. And the Matheson… Ah, the Matheson! He and I will have many a long study session together.  I can foresee it. I also had the absolute pleasure of meeting the fantastic GidgetKnits in the flesh. Her Arwen looks even better in person than on the hanger.

There will be much more knitting to be had on this side of the border. Oh yes. And writing too. I think I found my mojo (hiding next to the Tolkien books in the library). Now just to bottle the excess and keep it on hand for when the inspiration is running low.

So I’m not quite out of the woods yet, but the trees are beginning to thin. I’m still alive, and breathing (and wheezing!), but one hurdle has been cleared and it looks like the road is a little less bumpy ahead *touch wood*.

Time for rooibos and some editing, methinks. There is much to do, and the panel still waits…

8 Comments

  1. Geez no wonder I didn’t get to see you just before you left. I understand. How bloody awful. But enjoy settling into a new city. I’m kinda jealous.

  2. Gah! sorry for such a crappy week. But new city, new start and all that – sounds very exciting. And Melbourne has such great yarn stores too…am just a little bit envious!!

  3. Glad to hear you have arrived safe and sound and are joining us in facing the everchanging weather in a day that is Melbourne. It’s already warmer in the last two weeks, but as it is Melbourne we will probably get another week of simply freezing weather before it decides to stay warmer! Hope all of your stuff arrives and everything settles in nicely for you.

  4. ah melbourne. lucky you. so glad you arrived safe and sound and hope it all goes well for you there!

  5. Great to meet you and see the RTA in the flesh! The cursing has not rubbed off on it and just as soon as you’re done, I’m going to try to smuggle it into my bag!

  6. Hope you are feeling a lot better. :o) I’m thinking of doing a brief tour of Melbourne sometime in the very near future…see what all the fuss is about. :o)

Comments are closed.