Gilthoniel!

Where has the time gone? Comments on the chapter are back (forthright, to the point and exactly what I’ve needed for the past, I dunno, 2.5 years). I met with my lovely advisor today and she was very impressed with the sheer amount of work I’ve managed to compress into 6 months. “Now if you could just narrow the focus a bit more…” Well I did. last night, after a marathon 4 days scouring 8 Questions in the Summa Theologica, and can safely say I have a very original piece of PhD in progress. Heavens, it made her excited about the prospect, so I may be onto something here. Still, there are corrections, amendments and extrapolations needing to be made (and boxes to pack).

Also, the FFIL arrived an hour ago, so the next few days are going to be quite busy, I’ve just got on a roll! (Don’t you hate it when that happens?!)

In knitting news, meet Gilthoniel. My second and modded version of the Amanda Hat, knitted in Malabrigo Worsted Paris Night.

Gilthoniel in profile
Gilthoniel in profile

Gilthoniel was the surname of one of the Valar, Varda Elentàri. She is more commonly known by her Elvish name: Elbereth Gilthoniel – Queen of the Stars, and was Tolkien’s nod to the Stella Maris. This colourway just reminded me of a clear night with a full moon and stars dotting the heavens. It is by far my most favourite Malabrigo colour.

Me, freezing in the cold and the wind. But I have warm ears!!!!
Me, freezing in the cold and the wind. But I have warm ears!!!!

MODS: Cast on 69 stitches instead of 83 (pattern is multiples of 7 +6), knitted pattern to spec, and added a final row of k2togs in the crown. Beautifully snug, and shows the stitch definition wonderfully. If I wanted this a bit longer, I may have added an extra row or two in the second and third garter stitch repeats (now there’s a though for the next time.

stitch definition
stitch definition

This is a wonderful pattern. It took me the duration of the Men’s final at Roland Garros to whip up, I finished it just before Federer won his first French Open. Simply Magic.

Crown detail
Crown detail

If you need a hat pic this one!

In other knitting news, I’m a quarter of the way around the hemlock baby blanket with the applied i-cord cast-off. I like it. It was incredibly terrifying at first, but I really see potential here. Also, I’ve 3 inches to go on the shoulders for the RTA, and then onto the front and sleeves. The bulk of the works seems to be done, but I remain wary of the sleeves curse. I just want to wear it now, so that is incentive enough.

Time to go. Theology to read, mythopoeia to analyse. Stuff to knit.

8 Comments

  1. oh well done, on all counts! Good thesis progress, amazing looking hat (really suits you!) and applied i cord?! Wow. I am scared of trying it too but you are doing great.

  2. I love your hat. It’s gorgeous. I started Armando, the male version of the hat yesterday. I love the stitch pattern.

  3. love the stitch in this. Want to say love the colours in your clappy too, just beautiful.

    Also, TOT but my kids are named, Beren and Nienna!

Comments are closed.