Contact! (At last – yarn and an FO)

While I try and get my brain back into thinking mode, I thought I’d show a few thing off.

Firstly – my stash from the OBDM two weeks ago now. It was a bit of a horror story really. I had a lovely (but rushed) morning at with the yarn stalls and some lovely ladies who have all blogged about it ages ago. My day was cut short by a poor Magpie who had had an absolutely miserable morning and just wanted to hide in his office and work. He didn’t get much of that done either – I discovered, having been in my office for a whole 30 minutes that my flash cream soda (in still unopened bottle – grrr) had leaked all over my darling yarn. Indeed, my phone and 4 skeins containing varying quantities of silk were floating in the stuff. Eeek. End of phone (luckily I have an old spare). But panic stations on all the yarn. After giving each a thorough wash and dry, I can safely say none were harmed in the accident (but the silk bleeds like nothing else on earth). So without any further ado – my boodle.

 around 700m of Tarnwarncoot 4ply silk/polworth blend
around 700m of Tarndwarncoort 4ply silk/polworth blend
1300m of glenora laceweight in alpaca/silk - peacock
1300m of glenora laceweight in alpaca/silk - peacock
1300m of glenora laceweight in alpaca/silk - camel
1300m of glenora laceweight in alpaca/silk - camel
100g of Waratah Fibres Laceweight - Tuliptime
100g of Waratah Fibres Laceweight - "Tuliptime"
110g Fibreworks pure silk of indeterminate meterage/weight in peach
110g Fibreworks pure silk of indeterminate meterage/weight in peach

Not bad, huh? There’s an Ishbel, and an Aeolian, as well as (possibly) a Fountain Pen Shawl and another cowl or two in there. This is my last Fibre Day for the foreseeable future, so I went for quality and colour.

The rest of the past two weeks has been a blur of trying to write, being interrupted by academic bureaucracy (and simply, after dropping bombshells – stony silence from the powers that be. I may well be spitting my dummy in the near future over that), and rugby. Oh, I can’t wait for 1.30am Sunday morning. I even have my knitting selected. teeheehee.

Look who kept me company while hanging up my laundry the other day! This is why I take my camera to the clothesline.
Look who kept me company while hanging up my laundry the other day!

In knitting news there is an FO! The clapotis, henceforth known as Caradhas, was named not just for its colour (Redhorn in “Mannish”), but because it was so difficult to finish. But it is now done! And I will never use Noro again unless under duress. It was interesting to knit with, and semi-felted in the 400rpm spin I used to get the water out after soaking – but that’s alright, it actually looks better that way, but this, this was the deal breaker:

Knots in every single ball of yarn, and the colours joined did not even match. I can get the same meterage in recycled sari silk from Knitter’s Addiction for half the price of Noro, and that being the case – sorry Kureyon, you didn’t impress me at all.

In saying that though, it is a very soft, very warm, very bright, wrap that will be worn often this winter. See?

The very bright colours of my clappy.
The very bright colours of my clappy.
It's the first time my knitting has shrunk on me... but it works. Brooch and pin time!
It's the first time my knitting has shrunk on me... but it works. Brooch and pin time!
Done!
Done!

I’ve also just (in the last 3 hours) finished a The Amanda Hat, aka Ithilien Hat. Photos and details to follow when it is blocked. I’ll just say – it’s a lovely, very quick, very easy pattern that took a total of 2.5 full hours to knit and used roughly 70g (88m) of Manos Wool Clasica. ‘Nuff said.

Now, just a few more paragraphs on Tollers and his biography. Then I can sleep…

11 Comments

  1. Oh I’m glad your beautiful haul made it safely through the cream soda! And the clapotis is fab but Noro knots are not!

  2. well i think that noro knots were almost worth it because that is sensational! it has turned out brilliant. bugger about the creaming soda, and of course enjoy the ra ra but i dont want to talk about that.

  3. That looks stunning on you! The colors really suit you. I use Noro for the colors, but I agree, the knots are annoying.

  4. Cream soda and silk? I think I’d have just expired from fright at that!

    So sorry about all the knots in the Noro, but goodness, don’t those colors just suit you right down to the ground?

  5. The colours of the clapotis are gorgeous! A pain, but it looks utterly brilliant! And love the yarn stash – held my breath while reading that the soda didn’t totally destroy everything. Can’t wait to see the silk beauty that will emerge from the needles!

  6. Ooh your clappy looks marvellous, issues aside. It’s so pretty! It’s a great size.

    That whole stash meets creaming soda debacle could have been so much worse. Thank god it wasn’t.

  7. I have to say that in spite of all your difficulties with the Noro, your Clappy looks fabulous, and stylish too!!

  8. Oh gosh, I just would have cried at the yarn being soaked with the creaming soda – but my it just looks gorgeous – GORGEOUS! Excellent yarn selection there!

    And clappy looks great – amazing colours! (your hair looks great too!!)

  9. You know of course that everyone who reads this will go “ooooo” with a sharp intake of breath at the soda story and then “aaaaaaa” with a smile at the last pictures. In between we’ll all be a teeny bit envious of your loverly threads.

    Just when I am confident that I won’t be buying any more knitting supplies for the next little bit, you come up with another link to another fantastic supply. oh dear, how sad. hehehe.

Comments are closed.