It had to happen.

(I’ll blog about my OBDM stash when I get the time to look at it again. Thankfully nothing was damaged in the cream soda spill – more on that later.)

Just when I thought I could relax and write, Murphy has other ideas. I have a 15k chapter block due on the 1st. It’s going well. Apart from the fact that I have one active, brilliant advisor, and no supervisor or panel to speak of.

And I’ve just been told that I’m going to go from one non-existent panel to another as panellists (and my second supervisor in 6 months) are leaving/have left.

They ask “do you have any thoughts on the matter?”

Yeah, I do. Somebody who will actively supervise me, not be quick to say “I have no expertise in this field”, and actually encourage me to work would be nice. I’m not holding my breath. I really am at the wrong university… AAAAAAAAAAAARGH!

Now that that’s out of my system:

In less rant-related news – the clappy should be finished by the end of the weekend. All it needs is two good S14 semi-finals. The RTA is up to the 2nd bust increase, and the hemlock blanket is motoring away happily. (yes, and I’ve been writing).

Maybe tomorrow will be better…

7 Comments

  1. Yes… I wonder what it is about some supervisors… there is a great deal of madness out there. But my fingers are crossed for you!

  2. you know of course it will be finished, and how you want it, regardless of the interference or not of useless academic beaurocrats who are not really experts in anything anymore. hope the knitting helps keep you sane xx

    1. Thanks DrK, I guess I’ll be doing it my way again. And my gods, I’m going to do it right.

      (And knitting is a wonderful thing…)

  3. You are entitled to good supervision. Your uni will get a lot of money when you complete and they should be making sure that you do. But I appreciate that sometimes the fight is just too much.

  4. grrr, how annoying about supervisors. Sometimes I think supervisor issues are part of the “core requirements” to survive in order to earn a degree.

    Thank goodness for knitting, hey!

  5. You have really had some hiccups along the way with supervisors and whatnot, haven’t you? I do hope you get this sorted out.

Comments are closed.