Touching base, and Melbourne.

Whew, last stretch of travels, and then I have a whole 3 weeks before I have to (possibly) do any more. Looking forward to being home and writing. (And explaining my lack of writing to various peoples… possibly not looking forward to that, but anyway).

This is why I like being all grown up and ordering room service
This is why I like being all grown up and ordering room service

Melbourne put on a glorious afternoon for me last Thursday, this time my hotel room looked out onto the Intercontinental at the Rialto on Collins (its a beautiful building). I spent my afternoon window shopping for perfume (mom’s learning about perfumes, and I’ve got the nose for the scents she’s wanting to know about – its good fun, actually). Found some real gems that I wouldn’t have looked twice at otherwise. It’s amazing just how much more helpful the Meyer and David Jones staff are in Melbourne than they are here. I spent 15 minutes trying to get service at the Canberra DJ’s today, and was pointedly ignored by several staff. I went and got my stuff at StrawberryNET instead, and it was significantly cheaper. Yay for perfume (Agent Provocateur and Stella by Stella McCartney for me! – for less than the price of one at DJ’s)

Hmmm.... I wonder what this could be?
Hmmm.... I wonder what this could be?

Anyway, after my poor olfactory system begged mercy, I went on a yarn expedition. Cleg’s is looking uninspiring, Lincraft was to be avoided at all costs, and so I went for a hunt to see where the new Morris & Sons will be – upstairs from the Dymocks on Collins. Very exciting. I peeked in where I could, and its going to be lovely, light and airy – a real shift from their Sydney store.

So much wool, I wanted to roll in it.
So much wool, I wanted to roll in it.

What made me even happier was the store next door – Treats from Home that had British Dr Pepper (completely different to the US version, as the UK have banned a few additives that appear in the US), and Tunnock’s Tea Cakes! (unfortunately no Sainsbury’s Creme Caramel’s but I can survive). I left feeling quite happy, and with a 250g bag of Brother Buba’s Mr Miles for the Magpie, I can count myself foodie-stashed. (And we still have 3 tea cakes left).

Caffeine and chocolate are good for you!
Caffeine and chocolate are good for you!

And it’s off to Adelaide tomorrow. There are a few cathedrals I want to check out, a Mall of some repute and, if I can find some, yarn stores. Then, it’s on to Perth, where I will possibly die of heat after all this glorious cold. Not quite sure what I will do in Perth – maybe a river cruise, a trip to see UWA (apparently it’s lovely), and there’s one of the world’s best wood-fired pizza places in Subiaco, so there is stuff to see, I guess. My Noro clappy is coming with me for mindless knitting (when I’m too tired to read, or write my thesis seminar). So there you have it. Madness and mayhem for another week.

Mom’s Knitted Hug has been finished and sent – I will talk about it once it has arrived at its destination. Also, I finally saw sense with my Stolen Moment’s Wrap, and cast off to use it as a blanket. The yarn requires 10mm needles, the pattern calls for 12mm needles, and I was using the largest I had – 8mm. It’s a beautiful little lap rug – blocking to 88cm x 44cm and the pattern is gorgeous. I’ll do it again, with 8ply on 8mm needles to get the required drape. I still have 2 and a half balls left of Big Softie – which washed beautifully – I wonder what I’m going to do with the rest…

Pretty, warm, and functional
Pretty, warm, and functional

Anyway – its an early night tonight for me. I’ll try make notes of my road trip for your entertainment as I go. Until next week…

8 Comments

  1. so much travelling! I’m with Kylie. Sounds exhausting, but enlivening somehow, too. Lots of treats along the way make it lovelier I’m sure.

    Your mother’s knitted hug is beautiful. Well done. I am wearing my knitted hug right now so I can speak with some confidence of your skill. 🙂

  2. SG, when will you be in Perth? I am here til Thurs pm. Email or text me – WithaQ

  3. That dessert has totally distracted me… and it’s only 9:30am!

  4. oooh! I hope you had a chance to see the Gaol in Melbourne. That was my favorite sight to be seen there. I’m so jealous of your travels. 🙂

Comments are closed.