Whan that Aprille with his shoures soote

The droghte of Marche hath perced to the roote,
And bathed every veyne in swich licour,
Of which vertu engendred is the flour…”

Prologue, The Canterbury Tales, Geoffrey Chaucer

Southwark Cathedral - spiritual starting point of the pilgrimage to Canterbury Cathedral
Southwark Cathedral - spiritual starting point of the pilgrimage to Canterbury Cathedral

I noticed this morning that this will be post number 202. Then I checked the archives to find that it was the second anniversary of this blog on the 29th. So happy birthday dear blog, we’ve seen much these past two years, and chronicled much in our entries too.

There are a few blogiversaires this week/month and they’ve raised some good points about the shift in the blogosphere (and social media in general), which have left me to contemplate my navel (in the classical sense, thank you very much), and my future in the growing organism that is blog2.0.

My life is all about routine at the moment, so I was thinking of more purpose for this blog, something to stimulate interest – joining a blog carnival or two (only to discover the popular ones have been discontinued since I last studied them – who knew my research project would be so prophetic?) or maybe find an online reading group – or something that’s not going to bore anybody, or myself. I love writing – I went to uni with the sole intent of being a scriptwriter, and I came very, very close to it, but somehow reading fantasy lit for a couple of academic degrees had the bigger draw card. Still, I’m writing. But academic and popular writing are pretty different kettles of fish, and in some ways never shall the twain meet, and in others – it is pulled off. Heavens knows how, but it is.

So where is my niche? This is going to remain a knitting blog for as long as I have needles, yarn and a Ravelry queue. But what else?

Time is of the essence this year, and April’s quick arrival has definitely reminded me of that. T minus 12 months to submission and I’m a panicked wreck. (I need to be, its the stress that both nourishes and poisons my poor psyche). But I’m happy. I think that’s the real linchpin in this thesis now. I’m happy with my topic and what I want to do. And it will get done, I’ll make it happen. It’s just going to be a very emotional and difficult roller coaster over the next 5 months with the uprooting and shifting around again. Maybe I should embrace the impending pseudo-gypsy lifestyle, it is what the poor characters I’m studying had to do. Luckily I’m not an immortal tied to the life of this world, that’s all I can say.

But introspection aside, I need to give this blog some more purpose. Something to make it more readable. Something that will still be a joy for me to come back to and post things to in 2 years from now. If anybody has some suggestions, I’m more than happy to hear ideas.

School did not happen today (It will tomorrow). The Magpie ordered a DAC three days ago and it arrived yesterday. He spend half the night setting up the computer to stream internet radio through it, and today perfecting it. So the house is clean, the laundry is done, I baked a ginger loaf (reminds me of mom, and home), and I finished mom’s cowl (currently soaking – will post photos and specs on Monday), and have just retrieved my second vinnland sock in hopes that I’ll turn the heel before Wednesday.

On a more positive note, to say thank you to all those faithful readers out there, please leave a comment on this blogpost (preferably with some seed of wisdom of how best I can refine this blog of mine) before midday AEST on Tuesday (7 April), and I’ll use a random generator to draw a winner. I’ll find something nice to send to the lucky person when I visit some of the yarn and craft stores in Melbourne.

So thanks all for reading, and I hope you continue to enjoy the reading and my FO’s as they progress through the next year and, well, we’ll see.

9 Comments

  1. i love love love the introspection that a blogiversary brings. some of my favourite posts to read (and write) involve a little naval gazing. We don’t need to do it everyday, do we? It’s a sometimes treat, as we’re fond of saying around here.

    Your blog beautifully reflects the space you’re in with your studies. I feel like I’m stepping, just a bit, into the academic world I dipped my toes into but never jumped into completely.

    I’ve been reading a lot about what makes blogs work lately. Some of it is rubbish, some of it doesn’t apply to my kind of blogging, and some of it is really helpful. It’s worth doing a bit of research to find out some tips and tricks. Many of them will just tell you how to gear your blog for monetising (HATE the word!) but in there, you can find some real gold!

  2. I think the blogs I enjoy reading the most have a strong voice, they give a sense of the person behind the words. Perhaps it’s just a matter of a post at a time always writing something you care for – one of the things i enjoy about the history of my blog is seeing natural evolution – in my crafting, photos, thoughts etc

  3. yeah like what she said!
    some of you guys are so good with the words and all like.

    and my daughter thought i never paid any attention to anything she said. see how i picked up teenspeak?

    the first 30 lines or so of the canterbury tales was the only poetry i brought away with me from high school. i think i didn’t feel intimidated by the language, the way i was by modern english. (mathematics is more my thing, can you tell?)

    and happy blogiversary. may there be many more.

  4. yay another blogiversary! you know when i was doing my template upgrade i was deleting posts etc and i noticed what a balance there was of knit/work/life posts there were, and i realised this was what i liked most about blogs, and its what i like about yours, so i think keep doing what youre doing. whatever feels right will be right xx

  5. yay for blog anniversaries! I like your blog because of the references to your thesis as well as the knitting. Having completed my own I understand the stress, etc associated and the absolute need to sometimes just knit no matter what the deadlines are! The various quotes as in this post remind me that there is literature out there that I have never been exposed to (pure science over here!) and that it might be worth checking some out sometime! Keep up the good work. If it keeps you happy then keep doing it, if not, change it!

  6. I’m another big fan of blogs which combine crafting and the rest of the bloggers life. I like reading about people’s journeys, with all the twists and turns.

  7. Happy birthday blog! Beautiful photo of the cathedral. Whilst I am in no way religious, I do appreciate the architecture and decoration of places of worship.

  8. Love that picture of the pilgrims in Southwark Cathedral. And congratulations on the blogiversary.

  9. Happy blogthday! I know I’m late to the party but what the hey.

    Different things attract me to blogs, so there isn’t a simple answer to what makes a good blog, or what makes people come back, or comment, or whatever. But I think the main thing is good, honest writing, a mix of knitting and whatever else is going on in your life (but not all “woe is me” stuff) and some humour.

    Above all though, it has to be right for you, keep you happy, give you a sense of enjoyment.

Comments are closed.