Show and tell…

After the sombreness of yesterday’s post – work does that to me sometimes, I thought I’d liven things up with a bit of show and tell. First of all – does anybody recognise this pattern?

Yes, it’s going to be a woodland shawl in Cleckheaton Bamboo. But do you know why it’s special?

I’m not knitting it. Magpie is. He has declared his love for bamboo and for lace patterns, saying they’re a lot more enjoyable than normal knitting. And proceeded to start a Woodland Shawl. I never even picked this yarn for this pattern – I bought it for the lace ribbon scarf and frogged it on four separate occasions from boredom. But it’s going to be beautiful. Ah… now, if only I could get him onto socks….

This is my current pick-up-and-put-down-piece – the stolen moments wrap. Now that I’m getting used to using Big Softie, I’m starting to enjoy this.
Here’s some detail.

And lastly, because I forgot to post it last week – my sock roulette from Donna Lee.

Recognize the yarn anybody? That’s right – It’s Happy Spider sock yarn – stripes up quite nicely, no? Unfortunately, after close examination of it on my foot – it doesn’t fit me – I can squeeze into it, yes, but the heel itself doesn’t fit me, and it’s about an inch too short. Luckily, it’s the perfect size for mom, so methinks she’ll be getting something in the post that’s sock shaped by mid-May.

Anyway, that’s enough from me. I’ve been working the toe on my Second Vinnland sock on the bus, and compiling notes on Aquinas’ theological philosophy. And that’s been rather fun. Time to meet the shadow supervisor. Eep.

12 Comments

  1. Magpie’s going great guns.
    The colour of the bamboo and the pattern complement each other nicely. The pattern shines through the striping. Liking.
    Patience, patience. Surely socks will follow eventually.

  2. Wow. He wrote and told me he was doing lace but rudely didn’t respond when I asked what lace and in what yarn. Very impressive!

    1. That’s because he didn’t know. (And was fairly tired at that point, I believe). 😉

  3. I’m so showing husby this. If only he’d knit me a garter stitch scarf I’d be happy! What a clever boy you have!

    Shame the socks don’t fit – but perfect gift for mum!! Love the stripey socks!

  4. I agree, magpie is very clever indeed.

    Your recent efforts are also lovely 😉
    And I am really liking your ‘new home’ too xx

  5. Will someone please explain to me why I don’t have ANY bamboo in my stash. Honestly!

    The shawl is going to be beautiful, and so is you big soft wrap!

  6. Bummer about the fit of the sock, but I’m pleased it will fit SOMEONE you know. And moms deserve socks, I think.

    Off and on over the years I’ve thought it would be cool if my husband knitted. Then I think of him digging through my stash and fighting over needles, and I shoo him out to the garage again. 🙂 I suspect the Goober will be a great knitter and already anticipate the stash-burrowing.

    The shawl really is lovely. He’s doing a wonderful job of it.

  7. oh very impressed by the shawl knitting magpie! nice work indeed. i believe i have me a pair of socks in that very same yarn, shame they dont fit, we cant be sock-twins! maybe on the blackrose instead….

  8. Woodland shawl is going in my queue. Magpie is doing a wonderful job. The stolen moments wrap has a really interesting stitch. It looks gret in that yarn.

Comments are closed.