ring out the old, ring in the new…

Well, the resolutions and all have had to be shelved (for now. The yarn diet, however, stays. As does the yoga. And the silent time. And the walking. Heck. It looks like I’ve already written my resolutions for MMIX.)

My father was admitted to hospital on Christmas Eve — 6 weeks later than he should have been due to a previous misdiagnosis by an A&E doctor (He just needs to rest. Lots. )Anyway, he’s still in hospital and I’m waiting on tenterhooks to find out what, where, and why as I’m now in Melbourne for the next week and feeling helpless about not being at home, but with plane tickets and being a poor student, it wasn’t going to happen. So, I have knitting and Tolkien to keep me company now (and a Magpie), but blogging has been the last thing on my mind.

But I am happy to report that in the holiday knitting news: Dad’s socks fit perfectly (huzzah!). So did the pullover – across the shoulders that is – I need to add about 6 inches of ribbing at the waist, and mom was very happy with her hot water bottle cover (and her Greg Johnson cd). And yes, I think I will be starting to knit Christmas presents early next year.

Anyway. You all have a wonderful new years, and let’s hope the best of 2008 is the worst of 2009. 🙂

