TdF – Intermediate Sprint 2 – Regional Food

No self-respecting French cook be without a good recipe for Soupe à l’oignon Gratineé. The ultimate in comfort food, onion soup is thought to have originated in Lyon, and is not only a welcome dish on a cold winter’s day, but it is also very hearty.

My version takes about 45 minutes to make, and is matched very nicely with a fruity Savignon Blanc.

1) Thinly slice 500g brown onion (2 large/3 medium onions)

2) Melt 25g or 3 tablespoons unsalted butter in a heavy bottomed saucepan. Add onion and toss to coat.

3) Add 1 cup dry white wine (I use cooking wine) and 1/2 cup water to the onions.

4) Leave to simmer gently, stirring regularly until onions are soft (30-35 minutes).

5) Add 500ml Beef consommé and 500ml water to the onions, season, bring to boil, cover, and simmer for 10 minutes.

6) Cut a baguette into pieces – I cut mine lengthways into quarters to use as bread sticks.

7) Slice Gruyère cheese and lay on top of the bread sticks

8) Grill until melted and bubbling.

9) Serve the broth with bread sticks floating on the top and some fresh cracked pepper.

Bon Appétite!

[ 10) Serve to a confused Magpie and patiently explain that the occasion is for a sprint challenge in that crazy knit-along-thing you’re feverishly doing in hopes that something nice may come your way, only to have him declare that “it’s like a crack-smoking competition with the winner awarded more crack”. I’m not sure if I like having my yarn addiction compared to cocaine, but he said I can quote him on that and I have. I’ll chalk it up to thesis-writing stress. But he did love the soup]

I have 12 rows to go before the border (I’m going to finish it with EZ’s recommended garter stitch border) … SO CLOSE!

