It’s so *cuuute*

On Friday, after much research and deliberation, I bought an Eee PC. It is tiny. See?

(with a cd cover for scale)
(With a pen for scale)
I’m not allowed to use computer’s that much due to my RSI, but this does have plug in space for a mouse, keyboard and computer monitor, but its mainly for quick note-taking when I’m at the library, for my trip to the UK, and to hold my info and power points when I train around the country.

I am very, very chuffed. It does everything I want it to do, for less than $1000 than the one I would otherwise have bought.

And my Russula Hat, knitted in beautiful Waratah Fibre 8ply is done and blocked. I love it, but I may frog it and re-knit it because my head is smaller than average and it is just that much too big for me. But what an easy knit! Wow. And the colours… *sigh*


I should be marking, and, I will, after this. I’ve had a quiet weekend, but this next week is going to be sheer madness. I hope I can get everything done before Tuesday. Probably not, but anyway… I was looking through my old LJ account and realised I haven’t done my life soundtrack for 2007-08. I must think about that one, but here’s the meme doing the rounds at the moment…

Ya’all have a good Sunday, now.

The meme in question…

1) What was I doing ten years ago?
I was still living in Cape Town, getting ready to immigrate to New Zealand, and in Std 8 (5th form). We were rehearsing Rutter’s Requiem to perform with the Cape Town Symphony Orchestra, and some Les Miserables tunes for a cabaret show with our brother school. Unfortunately, the Requiem and the Cabaret shows were to be performed the week after I left the country, so I missed out – but it was great fun to sing though.

2) What are five (non-work) things on my to-do list for today?
Finish my pay-it-forward present, clean the house, cook dinner, watch the Sally Lockhart mysteries, sort out what to take to Melbs for the week.

3) Snacks I enjoy?
Chocolate milkshake, condensed milk, proper bread pretzels (deli cravings at the Belco Markets sells them fresh every Saturday morning), corn chips, boxty, onion rings… I love my food.

4) Things I would do if I were a billionaire?
Pay off my student loan, pay off my parent’s mortgage, invest in my brother’s dream to create a decent AIS-type institute in New Zealand, buy a house, set up a trust fund for my children, invest some for our retirement, and donate the majority to a number of charities.

5) Places I have lived?
Queenstown, Kommetjie and Table View, RSA; Whakatane, Ohope, Dunedin and Wellington, NZ; Canberra, Australia.

6) Jobs I have had?

Librarian, tutor, teaching assistant, receptionist, shop assistant, checkout operator, maitre’d, waiter, usher, janitor, high school teacher, reader-writer, XML coder, LIS trainer, rugby manager, independent researcher, database compiler, stage manager, stage hand, social activities co-ordinator, script writer, director, sacristan, crucifer, acolyte, beadle, postgrad representative, and doctoral student (the first time they’ve given me a salary to study, sweet!)

7) Peeps I want to know more about?

those who wish to fill this out…

2 Comments

  1. The hat is very cute, but the EeePC? Wow – I’ve never even heard of one of those! At first I thought the cd cover was a board game!

  2. Dude, what are you? 50? How did you get such an awesome CV?!?

    The PeeWee PeeCee is so so very cute. You need to knit a cover for it 😉

Comments are closed.