Of Dublin Core and other things

Thank you everybody who commented on my 100-post. I’ll be drawing names tomorrow – when I get back from the whirlwind visit that is Sydney – just to give those lurkers some more time to comment, if they really want to.

I’m all packed and ready to get the show on the road – my chauffer, however, is still sleeping. Hmmm. Coffee may need to be dispensed to rectify this situation. Anyway, while I’m waiting, I might as well address the term “Dublin Core” and why I was looking for a “generator”, as so to set the traffic spikes for the term Dublin Core and explain how a generator works.

Simply, as is explained by my old DC teacher in the above post, DC is cataloguing for Dummies. It was created so that online/digital books/photos/sound bytes/webpages/etc could be catalogued to the same level of detail as one would on the primarily print-based MARC (MAchine Readable Catalogue) system. Of course, electronic holdings can be catalogued using this system, but like I said, DC was created with Dummies like us in mind – using 16 elements (the generator I’ve linked to shows this is great detail) – to classify the work, which, in theory, would go into the header of the document along with all the other metadata, and, again, in theory should make it “properly” searchable, and all sorts of compatible. And yes, this is the really, really basic description.To lesser extent, the manual entry for books on LibraryThing does the same sort of cataloguing, but to a simpler extent.(As for the generator, its to allow people to play around at getting familiar with what information one would add in a DC record, and since most DC programs are fairly similar to this meme, from what I’ve seen, this is a good thing)

Now, its time to make some coffee for the Magpie, and get going. I’m going to be back to knitting with glee and delight, and I’m going to be social, damnit! Curse these airlines to not let you knit on planes. So. Hopefully see you all on Sunday… 🙂

A bientot!

1 Comment

Comments are closed.