headcount?

I love animals. Everytime I see that RSPCA ad with the dog on the stairs begging, I get a lump in my throat. I hate seeing the neighbourhood cats huddling next to their windows in the cold winter months, and dogs crying to be let in. I just want that on record. I love animals. I, coming from South Africa with its national parks and endangered species, also respect the value of controlled culling. They do it to elephants, giraffes, lions, rhinos, buck, etc, etc, etc. It happens. It’s a way of helping the land cope, and the other, lesser animals have a chance and getting food without chronic overpopulation.

Why am I talking about this? Well, when you’re on a bus from Belconnen to Gungahlin and you can play “count the roos” and see at least 5 or 10 at all times of the day and night, you know there’s a plague problem. Now, the government actually proposed roo culling a few months back, and all the animal rights groups were up in arms. I eat my toast for breakfast and read the rants in The Chronicle of people saying “Roos have feelings too”. Yes, and they are also excellent sources of protein and red meat. Much like the Springbok of South Africa – also a national emblem, I might add, and like the roo – they’re also not on the endangered species list.

I wonder if the people who complain about the killing of these giant rodents realise that a female roo can give birth to 2 joeys per season? And in a few seasons, those joeys will be giving birth to two of their own? That the overpopulation of roo in Canberra is actually seriously hurting the environment, to the detriment of plants and other animals, and that they’re a serious menace to the poor people living in the outer suburbs where the roos have taken to tipping over trash bins and eating refuse? I’m not saying kill them all, I’m saying keep their population in check. They are beautiful creatures, but all the coddling has meant that there is a serious imbalance in the ecosystem here, and as long as people are trying to be PC for all the wrong reasons, there will continue to be a serious problem with an overpopulation of semi-wild animals. And where will they all run when Black Mountain is due for its next summer blaze?

Anyway, enough of a rant/muse from me.

It was the SnB in Lyneham last night. And quite a success. (Also I made it to Tillys. Wonderful place. Pity nobody warned me about their serving sizes…) Pity the manager was so rude to TSS, it put a dent on what otherwise would have been poifect! But, it is a lovely little place. Look forward to more knitting there in the months to come.

But, still working on the photos from a few posts ago. And working on the 1 row scarf. 🙂

More later!

3 Comments

  1. Ha! I just made a comment on TSS’s blog about the rude manager! But yes, the night was near perfect and I came home all energised after what was a pretty exhausting day all round.

    Lovely to meet you too!

  2. I am with you 100% – this issue has had me fuming at the way Govts bow to public pressure, that there is no scientific backing for the “leave them alone” argument, grrrr. There is no benefit to the ‘roos either when their population gets so large – in fact it could be very eaisly argued that it is crueller to leave them to their own devices – so the weakest starve or are forced out – than to cull humanely. To manage the population by “not managing” is the worst type of ignorance.

    Good post CF. And I havent forgotten about your sock yarn! Sorry, hardly been near my email – will be in touch.

  3. I’ve actually just been speaking with one of the biologists who is part of a ‘biologists’ action group’ in support of culling local kangaroos, to protect our grasslands. So yes. With you all the way there!

Comments are closed.