“It is merely a peculiar honesty, which, in a world too frightened to be honest, is peculiarly terrifying. It is an honesty against which the whole world conspires, because it is unpleasant. Blake’s poetry has the unpleasantness of great poetry. Nothing that can be called morbid or abnormal or perverse, none of these things which exemplify the sickness of an epoch or a fashion, have this quality; only those things which, by some extraordinary labour of simplification, exhibit the essential sickness or strength of the human soul. And this honesty never exists without great technical accomplishment.” T.S. Eliot. The Sacred Wood, chapter on Blake.

I have always thoroughly enjoyed T.S. Eliot’s essays, and this one no less, yet, I can safely say that there have been many, many advances in Blake Studies since this essay was written, and for that I am eternally grateful. I do find it interesting how Eliot describe Blake’s poems as honest “in a world too frightened to be honest”. It could almost be contemporary. Which makes me ponder, is Blake’s terrifyingly dense artificial myth timeless? Do I finally have something to say, instead of fretting over my lack of words so far?

We’re moving on Sunday, the Magpie sorted everything out this morning, and nonchalantly informed me over a quick cuppa at Barocca (seriously, seriously good everything – coffee, nibbles, food. If you haven’t already – try them). Putting our meagre belongings into boxes becomes my next priority. I just want this to be over! So yes, I’m moving on Sunday. Let me know where I need to pick stuff up from on Saturday (and whether it’s bus-friendly or not, and I’ll do what I can in the morning to get everything together.)

I was also informed of the farmer’s market out at EPIC each Saturday morning – that I will soon be living down the road from. I am quite chuffed with this tidbit of information. Good, tasty food and less evilness than the supermarkets! Yay!

But for now, I’m sitting at my desk deciding whether Blake was an Everyman (and not looking at wool shops online… honest). The waterlily scarf has turned into 3 30 stitch x 30 row squares with more to come. I made a proper log cabin patchwork quilt in year 11 for Home Economics and loved it. Because I have so much of this hand painted yarn, I can actually make a patchwork blanket using it as my main colour – in garter stitch, and blocks of 8ply complementary-colour squares in the style of a sampler, so I will eventually end up with squares in moss, rose, broken rib, and a whole manner of patterns. The theory is sound, it takes next to no time to whip up a square, and can be put on hold when there are more urgent knitting projects to do. And then, there are all those quarter and half balls of wool mom can send me that she can’t do anything with too… I like this idea. And the squares look good. It can be my work in progress.

Now, I should work on that quote I began with. Until next time…

Reading: Northrop Frye. The Great Code. London, Routledge & Keegan Paul, 1982. T. S. Eliot. The Sacred Wood. London: Methuen, 1920.
Knitting: Waterlily block #4. 30st x 30rows. Garter stitch on 5mm needles
Listening:Fray – Over My Head (Cable Car) – On some itunes radio station.

One Comment

  1. “It is an honesty against which the whole world conspires, because it is unpleasant.”
    Oh, that rings so true for so many things in this age of Spin. Nice quote.

Comments are closed.