There are times that I really hate the buses here. Like, when I miss one on the way to the SnB, and then, determined not to miss the next, be at the bus stop 10 minutes early, and still manage to get there as the bus whistles past. Last bus before they switch to an hourly route. So no SnB for me. 😦 (Or, when they don’t stop, so you’re late to the Salvo’s shop and just squeak in to see a couch set – which swallowed the Magpie in a sinkhole in the middle of the three-seater… oh well)

But maybe it’s for a reason.

I pulled my second all-nighter in a row last night (I’m surprised I’m still able to do that, or, maybe not) helping the Magpie with his marking – checking the spelling and citation styles of the essays.We finished in time to catch the 6.15am bus (funnily enough, it was right on the second) to get to Palmerston in time for the white ware delivery. (Which was actually an hour and a half late). And then we had to wait another 3 hours for the mattress to be delivered. So we managed to make it home and sleep for a few hours.But, like I said, maybe missing the bus was for a reason. I did manage to get up and ready in time, but I’ve just discovered the Magpie is running a temperature. He’s worked himself into the ground, and he was pretty out of it when we got home. So I’m knitting to Numb3rs. C’est la vie.

I’ll be there next Woden Tuesday. I’ll make sure of it. 🙂

4 Comments

  1. Bummer about the sofa – but I suspected they might be something wrong with it to be so cheap (and rewebbing’s not really high on anyone’s list of priorities!)

    In future I’d be happy to give you a lift to (& from) SnB if you get stuck (having been on the buses for my first 6 years in Canberra I understand the frustrations)

  2. The buses used to be sort of OK, but then they had this whole ‘revamp’ about 6 months ago, in which funding and services were cut drastically. It’s complete crap now. OK for travelling between city centres, but totally annoying for the suburbs.

    Hope the Magpie is feeling better soon!

  3. The Magpie thanks his thanks – I’m not sure if he was feeling embarassed at the sudden attention or flattered. he’s much better today, having had a solid 18 hours of sleep! (I’m envious)

    And thanks SS, I think I’ll be taking you up on that offer, even if it is just to the city interchange or something along those lines. 🙂

Comments are closed.