“And years from now when this old light isn’t ambling anymore…”

My beautiful old pup.

My beautiful old pup.

I went home to the Bay for the week last week. I needed to escape my life here in the city for a while. I didn’t manage to escape it completely, but the break was good. It was warm. I managed a good amount of time in the sun, on the swing seat, at the beach, and the river bar. I loved my puppy old dame and scratched behind her ears. I let her doze on me, and was greeted with joy on the mornings that she had forgotten that I was home overnight. And I ate, and read, and slept, cooked, watched sport, helped the parentals, drove, and knitted. And knitted. And knitted. And it was absolutely glorious.

Sunset at the Whakatane River Bar

Sunset at the Whakatane River Bar

Low tide at Ohope Beach

Low tide at Ohope Beach

I’m trying to get all my little wips out the way so that I can send presents off/finish my bigger projects/do something about that stash of mine which is calling to be used. I finished off a pretty little thing in Zealana Air (which actually is all that, and more), and reacquainted myself with some Fyperspates Vivacious 4ply and cables. (I love cables. I’d forgotten how much). I whipped up the first mitt in a day, but number two suffered from a serious bout of helping dad update his classics teaching resources, and spring cleaning his new office.

A very Pretty Thing

A very Pretty Thing

A smooshy, cable-y thing

A smooshy, cable-y thing

It’s always good to go home, relax and just be. Something I didn’t do often enough last year, and something I will rectify this time.

On a techie front, I’ve been playing with some blog/website building, both here on WordPress.com, and on the WordPress.org platform. So much fun. Just waiting for the one to go live, and getting the keys to the other two – one to build, and one to do some updating. Exciting. I’ll let you know how the look and where when they’re live.

Dad's new digs

Dad’s new digs

So I have been a busy little bee. I’ve been social, and active, and all that jazz. It has been good. The plotting to better things faced it’s first test today, and I will get some feedback soon, I hope. So onwards and upwards.

There will be more to talk about in the knitting and reading front. And maybe even some more on the yoga and freediving… I’m just about finished a book on the Crimean war, and it’s been really thought-provoking so far. Horrific, but thought-provoking. Kicking into gear for our winter champs here too.

But to leave you with a little something from the depth nationals. One very talented photographer and freediver from the Auckland Freediving Club put this amazing piece together for us. Enjoy.

NZ Freediving Depth Nationals 2014 from Auckland Freediving Club on Vimeo.

Until next time, you crazy people.

2 thoughts on ““And years from now when this old light isn’t ambling anymore…”

  1. such a gorgeous part of the world, and such beautiful knitted things. you sound ‘in between’. it can be frustrating sometimes. but im interested to hear more about the plotting, and what’s just around the corner :)

    • I am ‘in between’. It is frustrating. But, I’m practising patience, and much introspection and thinking… We will see how it all goes.

Comments are closed.