“Biting’s excellent. It’s like kissing, only there’s a winner.”*

Since I last wrote, dear reader, I did what some thought impossible: I deleted my Facebook account. I can hear the startled gasps from here, but I can assure you it was painless, and quite liberating. It’s been something I’ve been thinking about for a few years now, and I had been slowly moving my photos off the site, and had manually deleted all by a constant of 4 days worth of wallposts, so really… most of the hard slog was done. But conversations with Dr McN and the lovely Ms Sarah had me declaring at dinner on Tuesday that I would be Facebook free by the end of June. When I got home and actually looked at my page, I figured it would be more like I would be Facebook free before midnight. And I was. A Facebook free colleague asked me how long this was going to last… and, between this place, and twitter, and linkedin… I think it’ll be permanent. Sure, I’ll miss seeing the photos friends put up, and the constant gossiping, but really… This way I get to really engage with the friends I have in real life, and I won’t miss the superficiality of it all. If people want to share photos, etc with me, they still can. But people are inherently lazy, so I’m not holding my breath.

But I have some photos for you, dear reader! I went to the LIANZA Waitomo Weekend a few weeks ago to talk about precisely what open source libraries mean, and I think it went well. It was at the very lovely, but very hard to get to…

Sunset from the bus, on the way to the wine and cheese at Te Kuiti

The Waitomo Caves Visitor Centre and Conference Venue...

A shot of my hotel from the conference centre. Apparently at least 4 ghosts reside there...

And then my family came to get me - Mom had a good mother's day, I hope.

And we had a lovely drive home, stopping at the top of the Kaimai's

So there’s been some knitting. My modified Temperance sock one is done, and it’s a sock recipe that I will keep and use, and just change the decorative pattern. I love it. Another ninja-project is just about done, and Old Port is sitting dolefully in a corner, watching me. I also have a packet of possum-merino to yarn-cake and knit for another long-promised present, and I’m itching to get it started. Luckily the weather is starting to become conducive to knitting, even if my hectic schedule isn’t… ;)

There has also been some reading (more on that next post… I’m still thinking about what to say), and some watching of the new Doctor Who. Which is why the post is titled as it is. You’ll have to see the episode for it to make sense – and I do seriously recommend watching this season. They’ve been so. Very. Good. So far. In fact, this last episode was absolutely brilliant. It has already shot to the top of my list of favourites, with Blink, and Forest of the Dead/Silence in the Library, and The Pandorica Opens/The Big Bang. I can’t wait to watch it again…

Take care, keep warm, and I’ll see you soon.

*You need to watch Gaiman’s ep of Dr Who: The Doctor’s Wife to get this. And watch it you should.

11 thoughts on ““Biting’s excellent. It’s like kissing, only there’s a winner.”*

  1. I’m still in awe of you deleting your FB account. I think that’s pretty awesome. Did you see any ghosts at the hotel?

    • Well, something had fun rattling my window at 3am with no wind to speak of… ;)

      And it wasn’t that difficult to delete my FB account. My email is suddenly getting used again!

  2. I have never had a FB account and I never shall. Having a blog and using The Ravelry is as much as I can cope with. Plus a afraid of FB anyway. Well done very brave!!
    Haven’t seen The Doctor’s Wife yet, it is on this Saturday. I like Doctor Who, I remember the loooong wilderness years after Sylvester McCoy, so even if it is a bit iffy, I love it!!!

    • I’ve began to shy away from the Rav forums, the stupidity of some hurt too much.

      But you will love this week’s Doctor… you’ll need tissues, that’s all I’ll say.

  3. i’ve gone through moments of wanting to delete fb but I just like to try and manage it wisely instead of feeling controlled by it. Twitter, I could live without most of the time. But well done you.

    Am totally loving the current Dr Who.

    • :) I’d been managing it, but it got to the “why bother” point.

      You look like you’ve been having a lovely break from work though!

    • Yes. new knitting projects. Still in a panic about what to take/knit in Sydney…

      And boy, can I not wait to discuss this ep with you. They’re talking Emmys in the US.

  4. I’ve never been a facebook fan so I don’t miss what I don’t have. As for Dr. Who, I only recently became a fan (still unsure about this latest incarnation, though) and since I am also without a tv, I have to wait for the episodes to come out on dvd or for streaming to become available on netflix. I’m ok with that. Anticipation is not a bad thing.

    And that sunset photo is wonderfully purple! I love purple sunsets. We don’t often see them. Ours are most often orange and pink.

  5. I’ve never been sucked in to facebook, probably because even though I am an extrovert I don’t really make friends easily, and if I haven’t kept in contact with people it’s just the way it is. I do occassionally go and have a look, but essentially I think it’s for children and teenagers and proud mummies.
    So good on you for deleting your facebook I guess. ‘Facebook free’ – now you have more time to do better things!

Comments are closed.